Easier Said Than Done

easiersaidthandone-274x274

In an interview conducted by myself, I questioned two individuals on their opinions about the term, “Easier Said Than Done.” We’ll call individual #1, Bob, and #2 will be Jim. Surprisingly, both had extremely contrasting opinions about this topic. In the eyes of Bob, he LOVES this phrase and claims to use it whenever the opportunity presents itself. Jim on the other hand, LOATHES this phrase and tends to avoid it by any means possible.

Bob, the lover of the phrase, contends that the the term is universally true for everything and anything. Which. honestly, I’d undoubtedly agree with. It’s definitely much easier to say, ” I’ll finish my work tomorrow” than actually doing it the next day. Aside from it being true, to its literal statement, he continues that it’s also useful and true in many other differing situations as well. One such example he proposed is, “for all the lazy people in the world,” and says it’s the best excuse to get out of anything.  Solely, because the other person can’t really argue against it, since it is literally true.

Jim, however, strongly contends that the term is absolutely detestable, and is indeed the, “lazy way out.” He asserts that it is easier to say a statement than to actually do it, but maintains that its ridiculous to use that as an excuse to not do something. He says that that is the whole point of it, you’re suppose to do it. If you’re not gonna do it because its much easier said than done, than you might as well stop talking. Because according to your logic it’s much easier to not talk than talk at all.

Although I didn’t have much of a motive about asking for opinions on the motto, I was just curious about how others thought about it as I have somewhat of a neutral opinion on it. I used to always use “easier said than done” whenever possible, so I was on the same boat as Bob. Nonetheless, once I finally used it to its full extent, i.e., used the excuse on something I shouldn’t have used it on. That’s when I developed a neutral view about it. I believe that the use of the term really depends on the situation and on some cases it’s okay to use. For example, you can say; I should stop smoking but that’s easier said than done. On the contrary, it is not okay to use it to get out of something that you’re obligated to do, e.g., chores, homework etc. It should never be used as your ticket way out to anything.

Leave a comment